Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,559   Posts: 1,573,301   Online: 1008

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Enlarging Lens for 6X7

I had some discussion last night in the chat room about the best enlarging lens for the 6x7 negative, but I thought it worthy of more discussion, since I am now new to the MF enlarging, the more info I have the better. Those that I spoke to last night may remember my problem (maybe it's not a problem), but I will reiterate it below.

I am somewhat confused after visiting the the B&H site when looking at enlarging lenses. Some say the 80 mm is ideal for 6x7 and others say it is ideal for 6x6. Some advertise the 90mm is ideal for 6x7 as well as the 100mm or 105mm. I have a 80mm componon, but this does not seem to be strong enough. Meaning, when enlarging the image to the 8x10 size, I am unable to get it focused with the bellows of my Omega B8 fully extended (contains a V54 Aristo lamp). I must enlarge the image more just to be able to gain focus. By doing so, I am losing some of the negative; this does not seem right. I am thinking that I should be able to enlarge to 8x10 without losing any area of the negative. I would appreciate any comments.

Chuck

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Don't know this enlarger, but have you been using it for 35 mm with a recessed lens panel? Is it possible to remove this panel and fit it the other way round, making it a domed panel? If not, check what other lens panels are available.
    I choose a 105 mm lens to enlarge 6x7, this or 90 mm would be ideal, but I would expect an 80 mm Componon to work, too.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    purely from a focal length point of view, I would go for a 105 ish, as you will have plenty of coverage (not always teh case with an 80 on 6x7) and same price as 80mm.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images