Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,948   Posts: 1,557,868   Online: 840

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Images

Black Hair on Print removal

I need to remove black hairs that are on a few prints.

I have done bleach enhancement but never spotted prints to remove hairs or dust marks.

Any tips?? I am thinking of spotting on dry print and following up my spots with a dab of fix until the mark is removed.

Then refixing the whole print toning , hypo clear and normal wash.

help require from those who do this type of thing.

thanks
    Bob

Shooter
    35mm
    Sheet negs from darkslides? Might it be more practical to fill in on the negs and then retouch on the print, as it's often easier (for me, but I'm a clumsy amateur for a few decades now...) to add density than remove it. The only times I tried knifing it left a noticeable surface-texture mark, even if the density was ok-ish.

Re-reading, it sounds as though it might be too late for neg-work though, sorry.

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Images
    yes supplied neg , murals are done, in future I will work on neg to remove the hair, but right now I need to bleach retouch

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Knife them with a fine scalpel blade it's quite easy, use a gummed envelope (drop or two water and ant retouching dye needed) and a spotting brush to cover up the knife marks. It's far easier than it sounds. It was the standard technique for over a century. and it does work

Ian

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    Keep the cat out of the darkroom.

“The contemplation of things as they are, without error or confusion, without substitution or imposture, is in itself a nobler thing than a whole harvest of invention”

Francis Bacon

Shooter
    35mm