Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,283   Posts: 1,535,004   Online: 1036

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

How do you focus you enlarger?

I've been printing for over 33 years. I learned in college how to print. I was taught to focus with the lens wide open then stop down to the desired f stop. I just recently tried to focus with the lens stopped down. I don't notice a difference. How do you focus. Does it really matter?
    "Photography, like surfing, is an infinite process, a constantly evolving exploration of life."
    Aaron Chang

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Wide open will give you a better idea that it really is focused, i.e. small errors are more apparent. You can get it right focusing stopped down but it's a little harder, especially with a dim negative.

Focusing wide open is bad if your lens has focus shift but no decent enlarger lens will.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

So good lenses..

Quote Originally Posted by polyglot View Post
    Wide open will give you a better idea that it really is focused, i.e. small errors are more apparent. You can get it right focusing stopped down but it's a little harder, especially with a dim negative.

Focusing wide open is bad if your lens has focus shift but no decent enlarger lens will.
    So all good lenses will hold the same focus throughout different magnifications?
    "Photography, like surfing, is an infinite process, a constantly evolving exploration of life."
    Aaron Chang

Rom
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I don't know if it's a good idea but i just use a piece of film where i made some scratches with my scissors. Then i focus wide open till i get the scratches focused.

After i just gently put the neg that i want to enlarge.

Seems to work for me. I never enlarge more than 30x40cm
    All the best,
    Rom