Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,900   Posts: 1,555,791   Online: 868

Thread: FOCOMAT 2C

Shooter
    35mm

FOCOMAT 2C

Hi I have just bought a FOCOMAT 2c from Germany. Jumping in at the deep end is not quite strong enoug a phrase to describe my folly. The Atlantic ridge is more like it - now thats deep. Now 58 the last time I was in a dark room was at school. While I understand the principles, processes and chemistry of developing and printing film I have no practical experience of actually doing it. I shoot B&W 35mm film only Leica M6 35mm lens.

Humpty dumpty needs to be put back together again.. As all the Kings horses and all the Kings men are attending Mandelas funeral then I need help from the someone to put it all back together again.

Also I understand it the negative holder has glass both above and below which is not a good idea . There is a guy apparently who makes a replacement for this which is without the glass below the negative. Does anyone know this guy?

The one I have bought has the 2 Focomat lenses 5.6/100 4.5/60. I was thinking of asking Malcolm Taylor to look at them for me.

Shoud anyone be bold enough to offer I need some help.

Sincerely
    Robert

[

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Yep, I've had IIc's before. Black, grey, beautiful beasts.

Here is one source of parts and advice:
    http://www.glennview.com/leitz.htm

Here is another:
    http://enlarger.de/home_english/enla...pe/a-type.html

The enlarger is beautifully straight-forward. Is it complete, with the focusing cam, and Bowden cable to change the cam? No big deal without the cable. Might need to rewire it; sometimes the wiring is pretty degraded.