Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,501   Posts: 1,571,681   Online: 988

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Help me choose an enlarger!

I'm currently looking for an enlarger that does 35mm and medium format in black and white.
    I'm considering a Beseler 23c ii XL, Saunders LPL D6700, Honeywell Nikor and an Omega Chromega B Dichroic, as these are all up for sale within my area on craigslist/kijiji.

Which one would you guys recommend for a total beginner like me starting to get into the hobby, and how much would you spend on each of these?

Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to APUG.

What size medium format do you want to use the enlarger for?

Are you in the US, Canada, or ??
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    Large Format
    I'd take the Beseler or the Chromega.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I've used Beselers and Omegas and would recommend both. I'd used a 23C in a classroom-type darkroom and they held up very well, so that was what I bought when I built my darkroom. Pricewise, it depends on the condition and goodies that come with it. There's a pile of other stuff you'll need if you're just starting out. Most is relatively easy to find, but some are harder than others (and it seems to be just whatever I'm looking for has suddenly become rare).
    One thing to think about is whether there's any chance of wanting to go to 4x5. I didn't think so at all when I got my 23C. I am now (and lucked into a Beseler 45MX).

Shooter
    Medium Format