Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,913   Posts: 1,556,263   Online: 867

Shooter
    35mm

printing on positive transparency with enlarger

Hi,

I have 35mm colour negative image that I am trying to print onto strips of colour transparency film. My background is in filmmaking so I am using 35mm motion picture colour negative film and printing onto 35mm colour positive film, processing with ECP 2D. I understand these materials and do not have a problem. However, I am not a photographer so I do not have much darkroom experience. The enlarger I am using is a Beseler that does not have a colour head. What I am trying to achieve is to enlarge the 35mm original onto strips of 35mm positive that are butted together on the easel; this produces a large positive image. I am using CC filters in the enlarger but not any contrast filters. I put black paper on the easel so light does not reflect through the base of the film. My problem is with the exposure times. Sometimes the prints are too dark or light but it is never perfect with good contrast. How can I fine tune this process to achieve better results? I know this is an alternative process so maybe i cannot get good results? thanks for your time! oh and any good books or links would be great!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    You're trying to to an interchrome. I think Kodak made a film for such a process, but I doubt if it's available anymore. You can have a print made then take a picture of it on slide film. It's one more generation of duping, but it's easier. For an enlarged positive, there's also Duratrans which is C print paper emulsion on a milky plastic base. But I don't know if Duratrans material is available either with inkjet technology so common.
    "Photography, like surfing, is an infinite process, a constantly evolving exploration of life."
    Aaron Chang

Shooter
    35mm