Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,911   Posts: 1,556,230   Online: 987

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Help for newbie with burning

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412713934.645851.jpg 
Views:	117 
Size:	334.1 KB 
ID:	95733
    Hello everyone, I have a stupid question. I am pretty new at enlarging and I am still confused about some of the mechanics. The picture above on one side is a straight print with what I thought was the best exposure for the statue and on the second I tried to burn the background significantly.mmI took my test strip print and cut out the silhouette do the statue, espoused my basic exposure and then did another exposure while holding the cut out slightly above the paper and slightly shaking the cutout while the enlarger was on. my question is if this is the correct way of burning the area and how do you avoid the halo that I ended up with.

Second question is if you know of a book that explains this basic technics.m I just got a book on printing technic he's filled with really cool prints and printing diagrams but no illustrations of how to actually hold your hands to dodge etc, etc. the duck bill and duck's ass reference were not very helpful.

thanks in advance.

Joaquin Barbara

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Doing the silhouette thing does work but after about 2/3 stop of burning, you will start to see a halo. You obviously gained some exposure on the statue as well so maybe try adding some cardboard to the cutout.

You could start with a half stop of burning just the edges. Take a card, cut a sawtooth pattern in one side, and use that to burn. Then try the cut out.

Or, learn lighting and get it all right in camera. Then the negs print themselves.
    Parker Smith Photography, Inc.
    Atlanta, GA

Commercial & Fine Art Photography