Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,807   Posts: 1,581,453   Online: 1112

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

use 4x5 glass neg carrier for MF film printing?

I've been shooting 4x5 for 15 years now, so either through luck or sheer stupidity I've acquired a 6x12 and 6x9 rfb for 4x5. I shoot 95% black and white, so I'm looking at options for negative carriers for my beseler 4x5 enlarger for the mf film. I was looking at getting a 6x9 carrier off ebay or somewhere, and getting a second 6x carrier and cutting opening for 6x12. Then got to thinking, (another big mistake), that I could get the beseler 4x5 carrier with glass, either regular glass or anti-newton. This seems like it would cover both formats. I already have a 4x5 negaflat carrier, so would only be used for mf films. Has anyone used the Beseler glass 4x5 carriers for mf film, and do you have any advice, does it work well? Would you recommend the anti-newton carrier over the plain glass one? (I'm not interested in any cost comparisons or analysis between two used carriers vs the glass carriers). Thanks very much. Tom in Seattle

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Dear Tom,

I have a friend who used to print MF negatives with a glass (anti-Newton) 4x5 carrier. His prints are great but he complained about difficulties with dust. Recently I opened up some glassless (Omega) carriers so that he could print full frame. So far, he likes them. Unfortunately, I don't have any experience with the Beseler models.

Neal Wydra

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images