Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 73,100   Posts: 1,612,694   Online: 821

Shooter
    35mm

Cause of light corners?

Hello,
    I'm hoping somebody can offer some possible causes of the light corners I get in all my prints. When I print, regardless of which negative I'm using, all four corners are much lighter than the center of my print. If it's not an area that's going to be covered by a matt, I spend extra time burning in those areas, but this seems like a lot of extra work.
    Any ideas of what could be causing this? I'm new to b&w photography, so please don't hesitate to state the obvious. I'm printing on ilford multigrade IV, from 35 mm negatives. I"m thinking it's not in the negatives?? Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Not really unusual, but there are many considerations that influence the issue. So, it would be helpful to identify your enlarger, its light system, lense(s), the cleanliness of same, etc.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    It seems most likely that you are getting light fall-off (uneven light) in the corners. You might try projecting light through your negative carrier onto the easel without a negative in place. Focus so that the edges of the negative carrier are reasonably sharp. Check to see if you are getting even light out to the corners.

If not, you can check your enlarger to see if you have some sort of disruption of the light path, but it could be that your particular enlarger doesn't cover the full 35mm image.

Clueless is correct though, provide more details and perhaps someone can help you with your specific case.

Shooter
    35mm