Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,772   Posts: 1,516,543   Online: 930

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Changing Paper Size.

I have only been making my own enlargements ('print' just doesn't feel like the right word?) for a couple of months, I am almost completely self taught from books and advice given here on APUG.
    At the moment I am enlarging mostly onto 5"x"7, I have made some 8"x10". I now have several prints I would like larger, not much, maybe up to 6.5"x8.5". Is there a ratio I could use to calculate the new exposure time? I always catalogue print exposure time (including dodge and burn details), enlarger head height, f stop and filtration, so I have a point to work from.
    The reason I ask is I do not want to use too much paper. I don't mind using a couple of sheets cut into test strips, but if there is a way to get close to the correct exposure time without several tests, I would be grateful to hear it!

Thanks in advance,

Andy.

-----------My Flickr-----------
    Anáil nathrach, ortha bháis is beatha, do chéal déanaimh.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I think the short answer to that I'm afraid is "no" (in my experience). Whenever I try short cuts I end up using even more time/paper and have to do a new test-strip anyway...

edz

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy K
    I have only been making my own enlargements ('print' just doesn't feel like the right word?) for a couple of months, I am almost completely self taught from books and advice given here on APUG.
    At the moment I am enlarging mostly onto 5"x"7, I have made some 8"x10". I now have several prints I would like larger, not much, maybe up to 6.5"x8.5". Is there a ratio I could use to calculate the new exposure time?
    No. But the difference you have selected is small enough that the following will be sufficient:

(1+M0)^2