Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,829   Posts: 1,582,236   Online: 1081

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

printing black borders

I need to print about 60 images for an exhibition, and rather than matting in black I want to print the whole paper area black, aside from the photo in the center. I've attached a couple of jpegs below to illustrate what I'm looking for. Most of the images will be square, but a few are wide.

I'm not looking for black lines, but black paper background.

Any ideas for the easiest way to achieve this effect in the darkroom?

Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails square1.jpg   long1.jpg  

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I've never done this before...so Im taking a stab in the dark here....But what if you were to cut out a piece of material that would be your image size, overlayed it onto your photo paper, and preflashed the paper until you achieve dmax for your border - then removed the cardboard, and made your photo exposure ? This would give you sharp lines inconsequentially of your border around your negative carrier, etc.
    Beyond that, you could file your negative carrier, but I don't think the lines would be as sharp, and cropping, etc would be an issue.

Maybe ?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Thanks, Steve. I'm sure that's what I'll end up doing (flashing around a cardboard mask). I'm just worried about alignment and how much time this might take for 60 prints. I need the top and bottom borders to be the same width on each print, as they'll butt against each other in the installation, creating a continuous strip around the room. I wonder if there's a fast way to get things centered and straight.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images