Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,696   Posts: 1,482,522   Online: 1038

Shooter
    Multi Format

DeVere 504 Dichromat, New Owner Questions.

Hi Folks,

I've just registered and here I am seeking help already!! I've bought a DeVere 504 Dichromat, I think it's an early model, Brown/Cream, 3 filter wheels which rotate vertically and Single lamp. I bought it used and don't have a User Manual so..

1. Is the Manual worth spending £25 on? what sort of information does it provide?

2. Would you recommend using glass or glassless negative holders?

3. If using glass holders, are they used with or without the metal masks?

4. Would a Viponel S15 timer be suitable, I have the plug to suit the Transtab transformer, or is there a specific timer you would recommend?

Thanks in Advance, Richard

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'm not an expert, but I regularly use three De-Vere enlargers. So in response to your questions:

1. Yes, I thought so.
    2. Glass leads to better overall sharpness, but there's more spotting to do. I use glass.
    3. They are used without metal masks.
    4. I don't know anyting about Viponel timers. De-Vere timers are simple and work very well. (I have two spare ones.) The best timer, imho, is an RH Designs Stop Clock Pro, which is what I use with my De-Veres.

Regards,
    Peter De Smidt

Shooter
    Multi Format

halfsies - well, not quite.

if it makes it any more tempting... I'll throw in 40% if you send me copies... or 60% for the original.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Hi Peter,

thanks for the information. I ordered a Manual from KHB Photo.

Re. the glass, do you get different sizes for different formats?

If I wanted to set-up to enlarge, say 6x6 rather than 5x4 (which is how mine is currently set up), what do I need to change? I'm thinking len's, probably lens board, anything else?

Richard