Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,872   Posts: 1,583,445   Online: 1170

Shooter
    35mm

LPL 7700 Pro Alignment Issues?

Hi folks,

I picked up an LPL 7700 Pro a while ago in anticipation of building a darkroom. Since the latter has yet to happen I've not had a chance to try it out. However, I've had a tinker....

It has a knob that you twist to lock the head at a particular height and I've noticed that doing this actually causes the head to tilt back a little - possibly a few degrees. This suggests that I will have to be wary of alignment issues and that a bit of stopping down is in order.

I'm a relatively novice darkroom user so any advice or opinions either specific or general would be welcome.

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras
    Images
    Hi, the head is not supposed to move when you lock down the height. If yours is moving several degrees, I think that there is possibly something that needs to be tightened up or is damaged. (I have 2 LPL670VCCE enlargers and neither of them do that.)

Jon
    Mendocino Coast Black and White Photography: www.jonshiu.com

Shooter
    35mm
    Check to column and see if it's bent, curved, twisted, etc. If the head is okay, keep it and perhaps look for a replacement for the column.

I'm not sure if this particular model has anyway to adjust and/or align once it goes out. I think it's a factory-aligned type. I have a similar model.

Shooter
    35mm
    Thanks for the replies. Overall it's in excellent condition. I've had a look at the assembly. The column appear fine, and unfortunately I can't see anything that's adjustable.

If I have to write it off it's no real loss as I bought it as part of a bundle with a CPE2, trays, graduates, tanks and so on.

Stephan

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Check the alignment with the head locked since this is the only way that you are going to use it.