Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,970   Posts: 1,523,469   Online: 923

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Test Strips, Marking

I have really been enjoying my RH Designs Stop Clock Pro timer. I make test strips in 1/6 stop increments and I have a hard time telling them apart. I try marking them with a ballpoint pen but the marks dissolve during processing.

Any advice on a good marking device for delineating test strips? Thanks.
    Jerold Harter MD

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I have been using one of these timers for a couple of years now and I love it. I also found the same problem you mention. First, I find it easier to work with 1/4 stop intervals most of the time, but I also found marking pens in the Darkroom supplies at several outlets here in Toronto, that are designed to remain even after getting wet. I never need more than two test strips now.

Tim R

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    One idea is to tape a piece of card along the edge of your easle so it blocks the light from hitting the edge of the print. Cut notches where you'll be making the 'test strip lines' so there's a V of density at that point on the print...then you'll know where the changes are.

An even more anal way is to do that for both the top and bottom of the easle, just to make sure all the test strip lines are parallel...not that I've ever done that...nope...not me

Murray

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Staedler Permanent Lumocolor Pen. I bought mine at a local art supply store as recommended by an instructor. It supposedly won't affect your chemistry the way sharpies can.

Sunny
    "Never assume that children will remain where you last saw them." --From the Lawn*Boy Operator's Manual

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images

Compartor Card

Quote Originally Posted by MurrayMinchin