Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,850   Posts: 1,582,856   Online: 753

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images

First Printing session with my new StopClock Vario (Zone VI) Timer

I find this timer to be as many have said before, one of the most important items I have in the darkroom, other than electricity.
    I have used it to print contact prints but this is my first time using the split grade mode on it. First, after finding the soft exposure I needed I did what it said to do and that is to set the hard to the same exposure and then put it into split mode. I exposed my paper which at this point should be Gr.2 by the book. My prints first came out I feel slightly more contrasty that Gr.2 but that is okay. Second, my soft seems to advance one to two 1/4 grades more when matched to my test strip. This seem to be consistant from print to print. SO All I do is find which one I like and go down two. Adjusting for contast and exposure is so suttle and very nice. This make my printing session much easier and more perdictable.
    "Capturing an image is only one step of the long chain of events to create a beautiful Photograph” See my updated website: mandersenphotography.com

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I have the same timer, but it is an RH Designs timer, not a Zone VI.

I agree that the timer has competely changed my thought process for the better.
    Jerold Harter MD

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images
    I sorry for misleading you. it is a RH dDesign timer but for the zoneVI vario enlarger with a plug to go into the head to the sensor with watches the strength of the light and compensates for the strength of the light by speeding up the time or slowing it down