Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,549   Posts: 1,544,661   Online: 815

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Burning in skies with complicated horizons

I'm not that experienced with darkroom intricacies but I thought I was getting better as far as dodging and burning go, until I came to the attached image. I can't for the life of me burn in the sky (which needs an extra 10 secs on top of the base exposure) without leaving the bright halos around the edge of the two main rock formations.

In my latest attempts I have cut a bit of card in the same shape as the line between the sky and the rest of the scene and have got slightly better results than before, but I;m still not happy. Is there something I am doing wrong or do I just need more practice with this kind of thing?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails balancedrock8x10small.jpg  
    Rhys

Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    You might try flashing the paper which affects the highlights with little impact on mid-tones and shadows.
    [FONT=Comic Sans MS]Films NOT Dead - Just getting fixed![/FONT]

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images
    perhaps try cutting out the shape of the foreground, but slightly smaller.... I would imagine, and from my experience, that when you mask an area thats exactly the same size it will create the halos. Try out cutting a shape maybe 1-2cm smaller than the area to be masked and then slightly move it around while the 10sec burning is going on.

that may help limit the haloing.

Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Are you moving the card during the exposure? It looks like you just placed it over the paper and left it during the exposure.
    Diane

Halak 41

Shooter
    Medium Format

burning a complicated area