Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,727   Posts: 1,515,156   Online: 1060

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Pinhole

Enlarging Paper Negatives - Is it possible!

Hello all,

I'm very new at this so apologies if this is a stupid question. I've just made my first pinhole camera (pictured), I'm loading it with Kodak Polymax II RC paper. The paper negatives develop ok, but they are a little small, say 3" in diameter. Is there an alternative to contact printing to get a positive that is larger? (I'm trying to avoid just scanning them in!!

Many thanks for your advice

Tom

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Tom in theory you could stick them in an enlarger, but the opacity would make exposures extremely long, also the textures in the paper itself would probably cause problems to.

You could make an inter-negative either by making a contact print and copying that with B&W film, or probably better to copy the negative using slide film, this gives you a film negative. B&W slides are quite straight forward and easy and you could make these on 35mm, 120 or 5x4 film.

Ian

Shooter
    Pinhole
    Thanks for that Ian, Good advice!!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Or (and I'll probably be struck dead for saying this here), use a digital camera or scanner to make a high-res copy. Then use your Ink Jet printer to make the new negative. Bop over to hybridphoto.com and read up on digital and inkjet negatives...

But the method Ian outlined is quite sound and worked for eons!
    Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things! http://rwyoung.wordpress.com

Shooter
    Plastic Cameras
    Images
    In school we used to peel the emulsion off of color RC paper and print in a color enlarger. Don't know if you can peel your RC paper, but you could try.

Jon
    Mendocino Coast Black and White Photography: www.jonshiu.com

Shooter