Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,774   Posts: 1,516,637   Online: 1118

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

BIG Enlarged Negatives?

So let's say I have a large contact-printing paper, say Azo in 20x24 or perhaps in the future the Lodima in that size. But all I've got to work with is a 4X5 neg. I've got some experience making enlarged negatives onto 8x10 Kodalith, but that's about it, and all that's readily available in 20x24 is APHS unless I want to enlarge onto pan film. What limitations and considerations are there in making an enlarged negative of this size?

Thanks.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Besides the APHS route you mention, you could have an LVT made. But 16x20 may be the limit, I guess. You may find other suitable options at hybridphoto.

Anyway, for enlarging this much, I think the main issue is getting your enlarger well aligned and finding a lens with suitable coverage... basically the same issues you have with enlarging to paper except the exposure and developing conditions require more diligence.
    "Only dead fish follow the stream"

[APUG Portfolio] [APUG Blog] [Website]

Shooter
    Multi Format
    A 20x24 enlargement onto paper isn't that big of a stretch from 4x5, is all I mean. Is there something about enlarging onto film that size that changes things?

AFAIK LVT only goes up to 8x10.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Well, optically, no it's not so different from enlarging to paper. But the things is, if you make an interpositive and then a copy neg using ortho film, then you have dueling contrast ranges. You might need to develop the interpositive with a developer of one contrast and then develop the copy neg with another... so there are coupled variables to tune and that's what makes it inherently trickier than a straight enlargement to paper.