Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,556   Posts: 1,573,200   Online: 1005

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Color Test Print (newbie question)

I'm just getting started in color printing and would like some advice. I've read multiple books on the "theory" of color printing and two processes, not to be confused with additive and subtractive processes, seem to be prevalent. The first process discusses making a test print by varying the exposure time with a mask and keeping the lens aperture constant. There are variants on this theme as to the amount of time for each strip, but the concept the same. The second process that I have found makes a test print with each strip having the same exposure time, but with a different lens aperture setting.

I'd like some advice as to the pros and cons of each method and which one is more prevalent.

Thank you in advance,
    Mark

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Paper has or had recpricoity problems if times got too short or too long. So varying the aperture avoided this. I don't think it's any issue with normal modern papers. I know I've used a fairly wide range of times.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Thanks Nick. That makes perfect sense.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    When I learned color printing I was told the exposure HAD to be 4 secs. So I learned to just adjust my exposure by the aperture. This worked for the most part but as we all know sometimes I had to use 5,6, etc secs. and it was only when I got over 7-8 that the color shifted. It wasn't the big shift that would bring the building down that my boss envisioned. Just adjust for it.
    Cblkdog

Shooter
    35mm