Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,231   Posts: 1,532,873   Online: 1068

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Exposure compensation

I'm new to the darkroom and after much advice here I'm up and running with a Durst M670. The results are beyond my expectations - far better than my digi work (done with full frame Canon & L glass). The prints have far more depth and 'liquidity'- if that's the right word for it,
    Now, my question is, I've done some prints on 10x8 that are worthy of going to 12x16 - what compensation do I need on the exposure for pulling the light further away, bearing in mind there will also be some dodging & burning. Or do I have to start again with test strips?
    Joe

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    If you keep everything else the same, it is exponential based on length of print or linear based on area of print. So doubling the dimensions from 10x8 to, for example 20x16 gives you four times the area which the same light is covering so it is getting a quarter of the strength. Therefore multiply the exposure time by four.

10x8 and and 12x16 are not the same aspect ratio so you could do a bit of maths to work it out. If we assume that the same linear length of image which fits the 10" side of the 10x8 is also going to fit on the 16" side of the 12x16 then we can do this:

Exposure multiplier = (large size squared)/(small size squared) = (16x16)/(10x10) = 256/100 = 2.56

So about two and a half times the original exposure will get you in the right sort of area.

Steve.
    "People who say things won't work are a dime a dozen. People who figure out how to make things work are worth a fortune" - Dave Rat.

Shooter
    35mm
    I have a site provided by an APUGer in which you simply put in current exposure time and enlarger height plus new enlarger height and a hidden excel prog gives you the new time.