Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,921   Posts: 1,556,586   Online: 1194

Shooter
    35mm

Durst 606 lensboard question

Hello!
    I am slowly bringing to life an old & sturdy Durst 606 developper. It came with a recessed lensboard but I have seen flat lensboards that fit that same enlarger head.
    Can someone please tell me what difference in results should I expect when using a recessed versus flat lensboard? And if I use the recessed one (the one I already have) can I use it with any lens as long as the thread mount is compatible?
    I must add that I've never used an enlarger before, I apologize if the question is too basic...
    Thank you in advance
    Joao

Shooter
    Multi Format
    A recessed board may be needed for shorter focal length lenses, depending on how far the enlarger bellows collapses. For example on my Omega, a recessed board is needed for my 25mm, 30mm and 45mm lenses.

On my 8x10 Durst, a recessed board is needed for 150mm and shorter lenses.

Another way to put it is that since enlarging lenses are not retrofocus design, the shorter focal lengths really need to be close to the negative when making big enlargements.

Shooter
    35mm
    Understood! This Durst 606 model has no bellows, the position of the lens is fixed. Maybe (my speculation) this is the reason for different shapes (recessed, flat) of boards. This recessed board came with a C500 mm Cassar lens (Steinhil IIRC...), so up to this focal lens it should be adequate. I hope to be able to assess it.
    Thanks for your input
    Joao

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Good morning, Joao;