Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,497   Posts: 1,543,051   Online: 1015

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Blog Entries
    Images

Vignetting in one corner

When I attempt to enlarge a 4x5 negative full frame to 8x10 paper, I get one corner (only) vignetted.

This is my first attempt with a 4x5 negative enlargement since I just got my lens!

I am using a 45MXT enlarger with a 135mm Componon. After removing the carrier, the enlarger is adjusted so that the light circle is at its widest. The upper adjustment on the enlarger (sorry, don't know the real name) is at the lowest position. I have experimented with the adjustment up and down.

It is kind of hard to tell, but it does seem like that the edge of the light circle is protruded upon by the edge of the projected image, thus causing the vignetting...

(In case it matters, I am not having this problem with my other lens (105mm and 6x7 negatives))

I know I can crop out the vignette, but what is the right way to fix or investigate this?

Thanks in advance.
    Steve.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    It may be that you're not using the correct bulb, so it's not illuminating evenly.

Ian

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Take out the 4x5 inch negative carrier and see if your board is illuminated fully, if not it could be that the enlarging lens is not centred properly.

Peter

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    Ian, this is the bulb (edit: ph212) I was told to buy. However, is that what people use for this enlarger?

Peter, If I measure to ensure that the lens is centered on the lens board, will that be good enough? I guess I should ensure that the board is seated right in the enlarger also.