Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,879   Posts: 1,520,372   Online: 1095

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

what's wrong with my enlarger?

ok, I am a beginner in darkroom printing and the other night I noticed that I can't get a print sharp from corner to corner of my paper.
    and it's not an issue regarding the image on the neg, I can't focus on the grain on the whole picture. to me looks like the neg is not held perfectly parallel with the paper plane.
    apologies for not being technical, but as I said, I am a beginner
    and if helps, I use a Meopta Axomat with colour head and a Rodenstock Rodagon stopped down to f8 or 5.6...

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    First try to align your enlarger with a spirit-level , every thing should be level !
    Start at the board and work your way up: lensplate, neg carier.
    Check the alignment of your neg carier aswell, look at it from the side, everything should be parallel to each other.

Check if the Rodagon is mounted correctly, it is a good and sharp lens.

Good luck,
    Peter

Shooter
    35mm
    I might add some more information in order to make your quest easier.
    I'm dealing with hp5 35mm. and I can't get the focus right for the whole picture at the same moment.
    it helps if I push down the neg holder, but this is not a valid technique when it comes to printing
    will check the alignment tonight, thanks!

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    That info says a lot: if your film does not lay flat in your carrier, then you will have this problem.

Question: is there a curl in your film ?
    Try to flatten that first.

Check allso if the neg's are placed propperly.

You can check with the neg carier out of the enlarger with a neg strip in it.