Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,818   Posts: 1,581,645   Online: 811

Shooter
    Medium Format

Newbie question #2

I noticed that when I enlarge a 35mm negative to 11x14 using a Beseler 23CII enlarger and a Nikkor 50mm enlarging lens at the widest aperture (2.8), the corners of the print seem underexposed. The height of the enlarger head is set to the 35mm level.

Is this a problem with using the enlarger lens at the widest aperture and if so, how much should I step down to avoid this problem. At 2.8, the print requires about 30 seconds. Stepping down would thus increase the exposure time to 1 or more minutes. Since I am new to printing, is 1-2 or more minutes considered typical and am I being too impatient in trying to reduce the exposure times by keeping the lens wide open?

Shooter
    35mm
    You're encountering vignetting. This can be caused by the lens, the condensers, or various other things. My own Nikon EL-Nikkor f/2.8 lens doesn't seem to vignette much, but I also seldom print at f/2.8. My own times are usually in the 10-40s range for an 8x10 print at f/5.6 or f/8. An 11x14 would require about twice that, or open up by one stop. My enlarger is a Philips PCS130 with PCS150 color controller.

Thus, I've got a few suggestions:

• Examine your lens for signs of damage -- dirty elements or fungus, say.
    • Examine your condensers in the same way.
    • Verify that you've got the right condensers in place, and that they're positioned correctly. Condenser enlargers typically require either swapping condensers or shifting their positions for different film formats, and if you've got yours set up wrong, you could get vignetting.