Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,654   Posts: 1,481,327   Online: 1061

Shooter
    35mm RF

Black frames. What about the negative

Hi Guys

Im pretty new to all this darkroom stuff, so maybe this is a pretty novice question.

I have seen some pictures with a black frame around the picture, where the carrier has been filed a bit in the edges. But I simple can't get understand, what to do with the negative. Do I have to cut it out of the strip, or how is it posible to get that border.

Best regards

Shooter
    35mm
    Well, you've answered your question: The negative carrier is filed and it's mask is larger than what is normally. Another possibility is that the negative carrier has masking blades, so you can make a variety of masks. That produces the black border you see etc. You don't do anything with the negative strip, and you certainly don't want to do anything. Just place it in the negative carrier and print as usual.

BTW, welcome!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I'm not sure if I've understood the question but if all you want is a black border round your print then why not accurately cut a piece of card slightly smaller than your print and then expose the uncovered edges.
    Norman is an island.Time and tide wait for Norman.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Filing out the negative carrier will do the trick at the risk of scratching negatives later unless you can really get the wider opening very smooth. Then you will go spend more money on a new negative carrier to replace the filed out one because you have burnt yourself out printing the rebate [film edge] and want the negative to have the support on all sides, the way it was meant to be.

Steve
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!