Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,199   Posts: 1,531,481   Online: 897

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Images

Beseler 23cII: rigid enough?

Bear with me, folks, as I agonize over an enlarger purchase. Thought I wanted a Durst M670. Got interested in the Meopta Magnifax 4, but I'd have to order from overseas. Still, the Magnifax has some really unique features (see http://www.meopta.co.uk/magnifax4.html).

Locally, there is a mint (actually usused) Beseler 23CII (or maybe CIII) for $400.00. I have no experience with Beseler enlargers. It has a very tall column, which is nice, but seemed a little shaky when the head was cranked up high on the column. Rigidity is high on my list.

Any comments?
    "If You Push Something Hard Enough, It Will fall over" - Fudd's First Law of Opposition

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I've been using a 23CIII for about six years now and have nothing but the highest regard for it. Rigidity is simply not an issue if the enlarger has been assembled properly. My only complaint is that Beseler is rather stingy with even the smallest parts (one of my not so cheap lens boards has only one retaining screw in it although it should have three....stingy, no?). I did spend some time tweaking the focusing mechanism and made it work a lot more smoothly than it had been, but that's not difficult and instructions are available in the manual. BTW, my version is the variable contrast head. I'm sure many will tout their favorite other enlargers, but if it's in good shape, I'm confident you'll be happy with the Beseler if you choose to buy it. Good luck!
    John Voss

My Blog

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    We have several at the lab and they are fine. However, 400 seems a bit high for a 23C, even a III. There have been 45's available in our area for that price including a negative carrier and lens.

Shooter