Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,933   Posts: 1,585,529   Online: 839

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 4x5 Enlarger

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

4x5 Enlarger

I want to buy a 4x5 enlarger. It is the only enlarger I intend to invest in for a while. What would be a good make and configuration to buy? I have never used an enlarger before - till now my prints have been from scanned negatives.

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience.

Ashok

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    De Vere are particularly good, probably the best available in any country, the 504 is a good model parts still available and still made, and Durst 138'sare close in terms of quality as well (make sure it's a 5x4 model). This page gives you an idea of what they are like, rather expensive now new, but there have been a lot second-hand..

With either a colour head will allow you to use Variable Contrast papers or colour papers. A cheaper slightly less robust alternative is the LPL 5x4 (sold as a Saunders in the US).

Weight is you major problem so shipping from abroad would be very expensive but I'm sure just like everywhere else Pro labs in India will be changing getting rid of surplus equipment.

Ian
    Last edited by Ian Grant; 07-21-2010 at 05:11 AM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: add link

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hello Ian,

Thanks for your reply.

Ashok

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images
    I would look at the Beseler brand as well. They are workhorses. If you can find a 45v-xl, it would last you and your progeny a lifetime. I have tried to eliminate the omegas from the line up as they have parts that need replacing after time. Parts that can't be found. I have had a couple of beselers that have worked without fail for way over 30 years.

Consider the 45mx as well. Not as sexy, but a very good enlarger.