Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,300   Posts: 1,535,814   Online: 730

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

i understand some stuff - get lost when applying...

i'm new to darkroom.
    help please.

So this is what I do not understand or, what i am having trouble understanding.
    i usually work with a 2 filter.
    Sometimes (2 times) i've used a 3 filter and have decreased the exposure seconds (or that's what i've done).

I always do a test print, star at a 3 second exposure, 1'' each strip, at f/8.
    When the image looks right at 3 seconds or 6, i've been told to increase aperture number and multiple number. That is, if it's 3, and i move to f16, that should be a 12 second exposure (to avoid less than 10s exposure).

Now my questions are the following:
    When an image is too bright- do i increase exposure time and increase aperture number? or leave aperture number alone and work on f/8 and only increase time?...
    thinking that aperture number lets in half the amount of light..
    or do i only increase time?

or
    do i change filter number?

When an image is too dark, do i decrease exposure time and increase aperture number?
    I'm very confused with how aperture on enlarger/filter/exposure seconds affects how light or dark an image can come out.

At the moment i am working with an image that i tested on a 2 filter, intervals of 1'' , 3 seconds each. the image looked "right" at 9-12 seconds, so i selected 11. Some spots are too dark and others too light, so i dodged some sections and burned others. Some mirrors are pure white. I proceeded to burn the mirrors for 6 seconds, and it's still too white. Should i do 9, 10, 11 seconds on them?

or, am i selecting exposure time incorrectly?

-oh, i understand how increasing aperture number lets in half the amount of light, so i compensate by adding exposure seconds.

Shooter