Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,296   Posts: 1,535,696   Online: 918

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Printing night time shots - how's it done?

Hello

I've been printing for a couple of months now, but I'm still having trouble with night time shots. I like to shoot at night, by street light, and would like to print some photos but they're just not coming out. The darks are fine, but I'm loosing the lights.

My enlarger is setup at f8. I've been doing test strips, but they're not coming out either

Can someone tell me what the secret is? Longer exposure, shorter exposure? Different f-stop on the enlarger lens?

I use Fujiblo paper and either Dektol or Korektol-E.
    Those who know, shoot film

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    It's likely your negatives are too thin, probably under exposed. Ideally you need to post some images, try stopping down a bit more to f11 or ven f16 and see what happens, increase the paper grade if necessary.

Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Graded or variable contrast paper? What grade? What exposure time? What developer time?
    Harry Pulley - Visit the BLIND PRINT EXCHANGE FORUM

Happiness is...

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Okay, I'll try stopping down next time and see if that helps.
    Those who know, shoot film

Shooter
    Large Format
    If you are losing highlights, you are probably exposing the paper too much. Also consider increasing the contrast (I'm unfamiliar with the particular paper you are using and whether it is VC or graded).