Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,880   Posts: 1,520,483   Online: 850

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Printing 35mm Full Frame?

I'm fairly new to black & white and printing, but am enjoying the learning process. My problem is this: I shoot 35mm and have never gotten used to having to crop images down from the 2:3 ratio. I find this ratio appealing as compared to what an 8x10 print gives, I also like composing images in the viewfinder and not having to think about leaving extra space at the edges for cropping. My question is, how can someone print this ratio on paper? 5x7 paper is close to the right ratio, but I'd like to print a bit larger. If they made 8x12 paper that would do it, but I've not heard of paper this size. Do I have to buy 11x14 and cut it? Seems kind of wasteful. Any suggestions would really be appreciated...

Thanks,
    Dale

Shooter
    Multi Format
    When I print full frame from 35mm using 8 x 10 paper I usually make the longest side of the image about 8" leaving a 1" border each side and at the top with the bottom slightly wider. I don't like prints made almost to the edge of the paper so I don't consider a smaller image on larger paper a waste, more a part of the presentation of the image.
    "Digital circuits are made from analogue parts"
    Fourtune Cookie-Brooklyn May 2006

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Dale,
    You could try 8.25" x 11.75" (A4) not a perfect 2:3 but very close
    Tony

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Ganz? makes a one size easel for the 35mm format on an 8x10 sheet of paper. Its called the "Speed-E-Z" or something like that. It comes in many sizes.
    John Harvey
    Colorado Springs, CO
    harveyje@usa.net

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images