Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,660   Posts: 1,481,540   Online: 1024

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    bvy

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Beseler 23CIII-XL ?

I only this spring began developing my own black and white film, but I've been making paper negatives (from pinhole cameras) for a few years. Naturally, I want an enlarger, and I've been casually looking for one. I will want to print 35mm and 120 black and white.

This week, an aquaintance in another state offered me an enlarger. She doesn't know if it works, but says she got it from an auction and that it's in its original packaging. It's definitely been used. It appears to be this:
    Beseler 23CIII-XL Photographic Dichro Color Enlarger

I've done some research, and this doesn't look like a starter enlarger. It looks prety advanced. As such, I'm not even sure what questions to ask about its condition. First of all, is this too much enlarger for a beginner? If not, what are the most important things to ask about on this or any enlarger? I think I should ask about lens, lens boards, negative carriers, and bulbs. But what specifically? What do these things usually come with out of the box? I think this person knows less about enlargers than I do. The blind leading the blind, perhaps. Maybe I should just ask for pictures...

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    They are a great little enlarger. Be sure the bellows don't leak, and of course as you have already suggested knowing about the lens, negative carriers will be helpful.

What is the asking price?
    http://www.aclancyphotography.com

Shooter
    Multi Format