Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,231   Posts: 1,532,875   Online: 1057

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

White easel discovery... problem?

I have a white easel I have been using for enarly 30 years. Well recently I drew some composition lines on it, a simple thirds grid using a magic marker.

Last night I was making some prints and noticed faint white grid on my prints. It seems the light is passing thru my paper and reflecting back up thereby fogging my pics but I have never realized or noticed this before.

I am painting my easel flat black tonight but I'd like to know if anyone has ever had anything like this?... any thoughts about it?

I'm using Polymax DW Fiber, cold light 23C, 6x7 BTW...

gma
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    This is a really good discovery to share. Fogging like this could go undetected or attributed to other sources. I suppose single weight and RC are more translucent and maximize the effect. My easel is bright yellow and I am not aware of paper being fogged by reflected light, but I will place a black tape stripe on it to check for a reflected image. Thanks for posting your discovery.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    This is not neccesarily a problem since normally you are only reflecting back the image that you are printing. However I have always covered the enlarger base with black card to eliminate the effect.
    Regards Dave.

An English Eye

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I glad this post is here as mines getting a little scratched and the one I got with the enlarger is about the same. It never occurred to me to think about reflected light (Doh). Think I'll follow Dave's idea and get some black card before my next encampment in the darkroom.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images