Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,880   Posts: 1,520,467   Online: 961

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Print Size

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Print Size

I've just started posting photos here and I'm not sure if this is the correct thread to ask this, but question is about enlarging.

I'm new to printing in the darkroom and posting here, I've been posting photos in the gallery, some scans from my early prints and some scans from negatives.

Being new to printing I decided that I would like to print my MF 6X6 negatives and chose 10X10 as a standard.

That poses the following problem for me: My Epson 750 flatbed scanner is only 9" at it's widest. I compose in the camera and a 1" crop top and sides keeping the 6X6 proportions often cuts into important elements of the image. The same also applies to larger 35mm prints I'm making.

I want to post more scanned prints here so the question is twofold: how are members digitizing their prints to post here and what size prints are usually made.

I'd prefer to not make smaller prints just so I can post them in the gallery.

I would appreciate your input and suggestions.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Blog Entries
    The size you print to is very much a personal thing, I prefer a smaller print, I think that a smaller print mounted in a large mount looks great, and I use 91/2x12 paper and tend very often to print full frame, which for 6x6 is around an actual print size of 8inx8in, as I like to have a large border around my prints when matted,
    Richard

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    There are "digital handheld scanners" that many of us, or someone in our family has.

Take the print outside into some nice sun, lay it down on a mat board on the deck or patio or sidewalk and scan.
    Mark Barendt, Ignacio, CO