Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,685   Posts: 1,482,258   Online: 1062

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Price of enlarger

Hello.
    (quick note: I am located in Denmark)

As some of you may have figured out by my posts around here, I'm new to photography.

I don't think I should be jumping into doing my own enlargements yet, but if I stumble upon cheap equipment I may just buy it for future use (or start doing it...).

I haven't even developed my own roll of film yet, as I am looking for film tanks.

I found this guy who is selling an all new one for about $50, a Paterson Universal System 4, which should fit 135 and 120 film. The extras include a NIB 135 enlarger. I don't shoot 35mm but I might just take it, as it seems rather cheap. He is 15 mins by car away, so I don't have to pay for any kind of postage.

Anyways, I am shooting MF, so I need an MF enlarger. If I buy one that fits MF, will I ever get to use the 35mm one?
    And how much should one cost? I found one in the area as well I can pick for for $140. It a Durst M605, that apparently can fit 6x7 negatives and is like new.
    Is that a reasonable price? And if any of you know of this enlarger, is is any good? It seems it only comes with a 50mm lens (Schneider). I don't know anything about enlarging, so what is a lense like that the best for?

Sorry for all the questions.

Thanks!
    Last edited by pbryld; 06-04-2011 at 12:24 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Darkroom equipment is cheap today, and I would say that the prices are fair. Just make sure that the kit that you buy is complete since having to buy one small spare part will usually cost more than you payed for the rest of the kit (make sure you get the right negative carriers and lens boards).