Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,750   Posts: 1,515,786   Online: 989

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RC vs FB

Shooter
    Medium Format

RC vs FB

I've got quite a lot of fiber paper, courtesy of a fellow APUG member, but I've never used fiber paper before - only resin coated. Are there additional steps required, or do things just take a bit longer in the various trays?

(I assume this will answer itself once I finish 'The Negative' and move on to 'The Print' - but I figure I'll fish for brief answer first).

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    That's it, the FB takes longer to develop and especially to wash. Where RC only takes a couple of minutes, the FB takes up to an hour to wash, much less if you use a washaid. Much has been written about the various merits of both, I much prefer the look and feel of FB, and always use it when doing large prints.
    Really it is no harder to ues, just takes longer is all, and if the stuff is free....well go for it!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Excellent.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    As compared to RC, FB paper requires you to be much more careful with stop baths/water rinses, fixing times and capacities, use of wash aids and washing. There are lots of threads about those subjects here on APUG, so some "wandering" through this forum and the Black and White forum is a good idea.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images