Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,212   Posts: 1,532,092   Online: 1235

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Getting black blacks with larger enlargements

Im extremely new to darkroom enlarging, so thanks in advance for your patience.

Basically I've been making 8x10 prints from 35mm negs, and while I'm getting good results, I've noticed that the blacks I get on the larger negatives aren't as black as when I print at a smaller size, for example 6x4.

I assume this is due to the fact that there's the same amount of light being dispersed over a greater surface area. However, the longer exposure times I use for the 8x10 prints look properly exposed, except the blacks aren;t quite as punchy.

I hope that makes sense.

Basically I'm wondering if there's anything I can do to fix it.

Cheers!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Get the right print exposure for the lightest of the whites. Then increase the contrast until the darks are dark enough. For grades 4 and 5, you may need to increase the exposure time.

See Ralph Lambrecht's book, Way Beyond Monochrome, Second Edition, http://www.waybeyondmonochrome.com/W...re_to_Buy.html. He had been giving free advice on APUG for years.

A shameless plug for Ralph while he is recuperating.

Steve
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Same paper? What exposure times? Have you tried exposing for longer with 8x10?
    Harry Pulley - Visit the BLIND PRINT EXCHANGE FORUM

Happiness is...

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Well.... if you are making prints larger and appropriately lengthening exposures, larger prints probably do have the same black. However, your eyes may be playing a trick on you.