Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,974   Posts: 1,558,726   Online: 798

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Your processes

Shooter
    Multi Format

Your processes

I'm very new to enlarging (I tried doing a print a week ago, which came out with mediocre results ... not bad for a first effort but not stellar either), and I was wondering what all of you do?

I did some searching on the internet but I still don't have a really clear picture of the process and workflow when it comes to making a print. I was wondering if some of the kind souls here at APUG would care to share how they go about making prints?

What I did:
    1) Make a test strip in intervals of 3 second exposures at f4 on a Pentax f1.8 50mm enlarger lens
    2) Processed and dried the test strip
    3) Picked the interval I thought looked best
    4) Processed and dried that picture

Rom
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi,

I am what we can call a newbie in enlarging

Here is my process:

- put your negs and adjust the focus of the enlarger with the lens wide open (i supposed it is f:4 for you)
    - then, shut down your lens up to f:8 or f:11, f:4 is too much IMO
    - make a test strip every 2 or seconds, as you want
    - process it and choose the right strip

- make another test strip around the one that you choose before, it will helps you to adjust the time correctly.
    - process it
    - choose the right strip for you and then process the whole image with this time.

In the dev bath for paper, process it at maximum. If the manufacturer says 3 minutes, then, you have to use 3 minutes. It's my way of process. I prefer to fix the baths process and only keep the enlarger process flexible. I think it's better to be able to compare different enlargement.

If you use fiber paper, you will also note that it comes different when it is completely dry..