Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,010   Posts: 1,524,639   Online: 958

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images

Disappointing enlargement.

Hi all.

I started shooting film about 18 months ago and it has rapidly become an obsession. I have always developed my own film and tried printing shortly after I started. The results were disappointing, so I scanned instead (dirty words round here...). Recently I was inspired to give the printing another go. In particular, I tried contact printing some 10x8 negs. The results blew me away. Stunning sharpness. Upon examination with a 10x loupe I found yet more stunning sharpness. Reinvigorated I went back to enlarging some of my 6x6 negs. Very disappointing!

I know I'll never come close to the sharpness of a good 10x8 contact print, but I'm not even at acceptable sharpness. The negs look good and scan well. I guess my enlarger lens has to be the main suspect. I focus with a focus checker and it looks good. I stop down. Still terrible. The neg holder is glass. Now would be a good time to tell you what the enlarger is, but I'm not near it at the moment.

My next step will be to try putting my easel on a slope and trying a neg which has sharp detail all over it, to see if the focus lives somewhere else!

Anyone got any other ideas?

Stick to contact printing 10x8 perhaps...

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    One possible problem is the enlarger lens itself.

All of my enlarger lenses are Schneider APO-Componon HM. I think they're the best enlarger lenses made.

B&H carries them www.bhphotovideo.com

You would probably want the 90mm for 6x6.

Also, make sure you're using a good grain focuser.
    I use the Micromega (now Peak) here http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...ser_Model.html

- Leigh

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Could be two things:

1 Alignment
    2 Enlarging lens