Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,535   Posts: 1,544,067   Online: 1112

Shooter
    Pinhole

Alternative process to Pd for better low key rendering?

Hi there,
    I have been printing on Pt/Pd for a few years and now I am attempting to print a new project the same way.
    I'm trying to print on palladium from 8x10 enlarged negatives of very grainy and contrasty TMZ 3200 35mm film.
    These negatives are night shots with ample black areas which I want to render not as flat blacks, but as rich shadows, lively with grain.

I have re-enlarged my negatives several times and tried all possible contrast solutions with Pd. I have raised the Dmin areas of the negative so they show considerable grain. No matter what I do, the shadows become flat and dull. Reducing the print contrast, I get muddy dark grays with no real texture.

I love Pd for its soft shadows, while printing these negatives in silver would result in very harsh, gritty images. But I'm starting to think that Pd might not be the best candidate for this. I heard that Pt/Pd excels mostly in high key scenarios, while other processes (such as gum bichromate) render shadow details better.

Can anybody suggest some other alt process that could be better suited for my goals? Gum? Carbon? I don't mind the learning curve as long as I get the results I need.

Thank you,
    gm
    SoFiET
    lii.cc

Shooter
    35mm
    Offhand I would suggest Carbon or Carbro. I don't have enough first hand experience with them to give a definitive answer but I have seen those processes describe several times as having good shadow detail but issues in the highlights with con-tone negatives. Perhaps one of the others that has used the process more can give you a better assessment.

Shooter
    Medium Format