Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,276   Posts: 1,534,705   Online: 927

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Kallitype and exposure question

Hi All,

I am fairly new to the alternative UV printing process. I have been successful with pd/pt printing so far, so i decided to try my hand at Kallitype. I read i can come quite close to pd/pt. First try last night and i can't say I am happy so far. I just don't see the highlights rendered as well as pd/pt and they have tended to be yellowish. For those experienced out there how do I minimize that aspect?

Also for DR I have been measuring highlights at about 1.4. Is this a good range for highlights using this process? Another issue I encountered is the bleach out of the highlights. I am not getting quite the same results as my test strip. Could this be a function of the light being on longer during a test strip and thus getting "hotter" and therefore not the same as a single shorter exposure?

Thank you all in advance.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Are you fully clearing the print? I used to do kallitypes and found them much harder to clear than Pd prints. I had the best luck with Perma-wash. Citric acid and oxalic acid didn't work for me . I never became an expert at the process, but that was my experience.
    Your first 10,000 pictures are the worst - HCB

www.markjamesfisher.com

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Where are you? I ask because humidity can actually play a role here. Kallitypes are much more difficult to control, in my experience, compared to PT/PD, so expect some trial and error.
    K.S. Klain

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I am in San Diego. humidity is pretty low for the most part. I will try again tonight and certainly try clearing longer.

Shooter
    Large Format