Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,886   Posts: 1,520,595   Online: 1046

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Alt processes help.

Hi everyone. Firstly I would like to say Hello, Im Hannah and im new. Im a student studying in my final, very scary year of university.
    As part of my dissertation I am experimenting with cyanotypes and gum printing, with the later not quite going so well, but I will persevere. 😃
    I am also here to ask a very, very big favour from anyone willing to help out, which would include answering some questions that will help with the research needed to write a half decent essay, and as alt processes are hard to find nowadays I would like to come to the people experimenting and loving the processes themselves.
    the questions are as follows:
    1. What processes have you explored and which is your favourite?
    2. Why did you start alternative printing?
    3. Although alternative printing is now a niche market, do you think it has a place in todays digital age?

any answers are so greatly appreciated!!
    😃

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    1 -- cyanotype, brown, salt, gum, platinum & palladium, image transfer (Polaroid)...favorite: carbon
    2 -- self-expression, the love of the hand-made print, not being tied to the whims of a silver gelatin paper manufacturer
    3 -- people with digital cameras or small/medium format cameras, or even tiny 4x5's, can now make enlarged digital negatives, yet produce hand-made prints in many different processes.
    At least with LF landscape, a bad day of photography can still be a good day of exercise.

1. Van dyke brown, platinum & palladium a little, Kallitype, gravure many years ago a lot, photo litho (on stones) many years ago. Now I only print kallitypes and carbon transfer.