Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,941   Posts: 1,557,542   Online: 1184

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm
    Images

How do you prepare a glass plate for use as a neg

Total newbie here, and having not read too much on the subject, I was wondering just how glass plates are coated, or sensitized, for use in todays world. Can someone clue me in on the procedure and how adhering the emulsions are.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Wayne,

I think the only commercially available glass plates are from Russia made by Slavich.

http://www.retrophotographic.com/shop/41/

If you are wondering about a do it yourself version, you have a few choices, suspending silver salts in collodion, albumen, or gelatin.

Lots of details here:

http://albumen.stanford.edu/library/...nbeam/toc.html

Collodion, especially wet-plate collodion is having a great comeback in recent years, and you could probably find a weekend seminar near you to learn. Its not terribly difficult, but does take quite a bit of effort. Here is a brief summary from Wayne Pierce:

http://www.companyphotographer.com/h...tructions.html

Once you get collodion wet-plate under your belt, you can try collodion dry-plate. Same basic idea, but with a bit less speed and a few more steps.

I know there must be people out there making gelatin dry-plates, but I don't know any personally. Some details here:

http://www.apug.org/forums/article.php?a=44

Considering the much touted "death of film" (tongue firmly but cautiously in cheek), it would make sense for somebody to start working on a reliable gelatin dry-plate, any comments?

Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    There is an excellent book out there that covers in some but not excruciating detail a wide range of "alternative" processes - Coming In To Focus, by John Barnier. He gives a good overview of wet-plate collodion.