Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,934   Posts: 1,557,035   Online: 1245

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Images

Bromoil - anyone?

Some time ago I asked if anyone was doing oilprints... it didn't seem to be the case..

so I'll try this.
    Bromoil? anyone doing it?

I am just beginning to learn this technique - I use liquid emulsion as a base, and it is SO MUCH FUN!

anyone?

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I tried bromoil. Ironically, the best bromoil print I ever did, which actually did look great but was the only decent bromoil I ever made, was a test print; I had soaked my prints for about three days, and well, I never knew that the silver just comes off the print after soaking for so long... So it has a few portions where the silver gelatin came off, but still, it looked quite nice.

Of all the processes I tried, (palladium, azo, kallitype, satista ,van-dyke, cyanotype, and an extremely short-lived attempt at oilprints- where I never produced a print that would even qualify as "absolutely horrible!") bromoil was my favorite; I'm not sure why, but it might have been in part due to the fact that I didn't have to enlarge negatives and I could keep printing on the same paper I liked to use (Ilford warmtone FB).

Unfortunately I wasn't ever able to get the hang of bromoil, even after trying other papers, including the ones recommended for it, and I eventually decided that as fun as it was, even with all the lousy prints I made, I would have preferred to devote my time to taking more photos and working in the darkroom, so I gave up on all of the alternative processes.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    It's certainly on my list of things to try, but so far I've got no further than attending a one day workshop; great fun. Inspiration may be found here:
    Bromoil
    Regards Dave.