Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,880   Posts: 1,520,483   Online: 835

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    8x10 Format

Double coating & esthetic issues

I've read with interest about double coating pt/pd prints. I understand it increases dmax and produces better shadow details. May I ask if folks here do it as a regular thing? Or is it done only for certain images? What are the important points to note when double coating?

I'm fairly new to Pt/Pd. From my very brief experience so far, I find that much of the learning curve is in technical issues rather than visual (esthetic) ones. Lots of problems (coating, drop counts, humidity, fog, graininess, clearing, paper suitability, etc.) came up in the initial stage. I assume more technical problems will surface along the way. But when an image turns out right, it looks right. Seems easy enough; little or no manipulation needed. Mainly tone, contrast, and feel of the print. Somehow I think I am being naive thinking this way? What am I missing?

Thanks.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    I double coat routinely, both Pt./Pd. and kallitype. However, I dilute the second coating 1:1 with water. So for an 8X10 print I would use 2ml of the sensitizer for the first coating, then dilute the 1 ml with water for the second coating.

Sandy

Quote Originally Posted by eggshell
    I've read with interest about double coating pt/pd prints. I understand it increases dmax and produces better shadow details. May I ask if folks here do it as a regular thing? Or is it done only for certain images? What are the important points to note when double coating?