Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,898   Posts: 1,584,359   Online: 723

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Question for all you Bromoilists

I'm relatively new to the Bromoil process and I need a little advice.

It seems that the biggest problem I'm running into is water streaks after each time I soak the inked matrix. The only way I've been able to get rid of them is to apply lots of ink to it and roll it out with the soft foam brayer. The problem there is it starts to look too much like a regular photograph. Any suggestions? I know experience is the best teacher, but I'm starting to run low on patience.

I'm using JandC Bromoprint paper.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    are you making sure that you are blotting every single drop of water off the wet print with a shop paper towel before you start inking?
    Prints available in the APUG GAllery
    www.gaylarsonphotography.com

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Yeah, I've made sure of that. As I pull the matrix out of the water, that's when the streaks form and even after drying the water off, they are still there. As I'm writing this I just had an idea, could it possibly be the ink isn't stiff enough?

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    which fixer are you using and at what diliton ratio?

are these occuring after you begin inking and re-wet, or right from the beginning.

perhaps Gene will drop in and shed some light on this as i know he checks in frm time to time.
    http://www.aclancyphotography.com

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Fixer? I used Ilford Rapid Fix 1:9

The streaks begin after I begin inking and then re-wetting.

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    try a 10% solution of plain hypo.

and stiffer ink.
    http://www.aclancyphotography.com

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images