Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,955   Posts: 1,586,014   Online: 668

Shooter
    8x10 Format

2 questions on carbon printing

Good day,

I have two general questions with regards to the carbon printing process, which hopefully someone can answer. I have no experience with carbon printing but have long-term goals of getting into it at some point. So, here we go:

(1) When using fixed-out silver gelatine paper as the final support, are two fixing baths required/suggested, just as for archivally processed silver gelatine print, or is one sufficient? I presume the issue would be browning of insufficiently fixed-out silver when exposed to light, which would show through the highlights of a carbon print?

(2) Can carbon prints be dry-mounted or does the heat of the dry mounting press soften and thus damage the carbon emulsion?

Many thanks in advance,

Markus

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Markus Albertz View Post
    Good day,

I have two general questions with regards to the carbon printing process, which hopefully someone can answer. I have no experience with carbon printing but have long-term goals of getting into it at some point. So, here we go:

(1) When using fixed-out silver gelatine paper as the final support, are two fixing baths required/suggested, just as for archivally processed silver gelatine print, or is one sufficient? I presume the issue would be browning of insufficiently fixed-out silver when exposed to light, which would show through the highlights of a carbon print?

(2) Can carbon prints be dry-mounted or does the heat of the dry mounting press soften and thus damage the carbon emulsion?

Many thanks in advance,

Markus