Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,978   Posts: 1,523,691   Online: 1121

Shooter
    35mm

Looking to Assist Wet Plate Photographer

Dear Everybody,

I was told by a wet plate photographer out west, Elizabeth Merfeld, that I should post in this forum in regards to the following. I am a recent college graduate and now that I've recovered (enough, atleast) from some intense back surgery, it's come that time for me to plot my next move. Although I've never created or aided in the development of any wet plate collodion work, I'm strangely attracted to such and even collect tintypes I find and can afford. There's a depth I cannot explain and the fact that each is one of a kind makes them almost magical. I feel drawn to this process and have for some time.

I was thinking that if I found a photographer who did this and had a successful business doing so, he may have room to bring on an assistant/apprentice. And whith more and more young people turning away from the traditional and antiquarian processses and towards that of digital, it must be hard to find assistants.

And that brings me to this, are any of you wet plate photographers in need of an assistant? I am a hardworker and always eager to learn and expand my photography/art knowledge. I would prefer it if you lived within the vicinity of New York City, seeing that I'm currently located in Hoboken, NJ. Although, I haven't completely abandoned the idea of relocating. If you are interested, my resume can be found with my contact information at WWW.JPCORRIII.COM. Even if you are not in need of an assistant, but you know someone who is, would you mind passing on this information?

Thanks so much for taking the time to read all of this. I hope all's well with the lot of you, and am eagerly waiting your replys.

Sincerely,
    J.P. Corr III (WWW.JPCORRIII.COM)

Shooter
    Multi Format