Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,956   Posts: 1,522,842   Online: 1011

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Pinhole

Underwater Pinhole camera

Hi everyone,
    I'm new in APUG, and in Pinhole photography.
    I've made a couple of cameras that worked pretty well, and now I wanted to make a new one.
    The thing is that I want this new camera to take underwater photos. Has anyone try that? I don't know how the water will affect the exposure times, and everything.
    I' seen a picture by Justin Quinnell (http://www.pinholephotography.org/)
    called "Duck and foot" made with a drink can camera so I believe it is possible. I'll appreciate any help.
    I'll begin my first attempt soon. I'll tell you later about the results.
    Bye.

Pedro.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Welcome to APUG, Pedro. You'll love it here. I don't post very often, but I read most everything. There are so many good ideas being thought about by many good minds. It always gives you something to think about during the day. Like underwater pinholes. What a perfectly marvelous idea!

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    Pedro

I have never done underwater pinhole, but I have done both pinhole stuff and underwater stuff. A few thoughts......

Pinhole exposures are long, moving water makes most things underwater move, this is a bad combination. You will need to hold the camera steady, which means on the bottom, and you will probably want a subject which is on the bottom.

One photo that I got once underwater which was interesting, and something similar might be possible with a pinhole....