Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,208   Posts: 1,531,932   Online: 1112

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cyanotypes?

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images

Cyanotypes?

I'm interested in trying my hand at cyanotype, I've never done any alternative processes before so it's a little daunting.

I'm considering getting the Fotospeed kit as a starting point, can I ask your views on this? Does it represent value for money, are there better ways to get started and if not what are they. (UK based.)

Also, what should I aim for in a negative, normal, high or low contrast/density etc.

Any links to information also welcomed.

Thanks

Martin
    I'm Spartacus!

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    My limited experience with Fotospeed kits is that they are poor value.
    Look at:
    http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Starks-Alternative-Photography for a possible alternative, or check out:
    http://www.mikeware.demon.co.uk/

for a D.I.Y. approach.
    Regards Dave.

An English Eye

Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Quote Originally Posted by wiseowl View Post
    I'm interested in trying my hand at cyanotype, I've never done any alternative processes before so it's a little daunting.

I'm considering getting the Fotospeed kit as a starting point, can I ask your views on this? Does it represent value for money, are there better ways to get started and if not what are they. (UK based.)

Also, what should I aim for in a negative, normal, high or low contrast/density etc.

Any links to information also welcomed.

Thanks

Martin
    Purchase the required chemicals seperately, they are inexpensive. I personally prefer the traditional cyanotype formula over Ware's. Everyone crows about the DMAX you get with the Ware formula but you can get a very good DMAX with the traditional formula by using 2 parts A to 1 part B.

Use a good quality paper for best results.