Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 73,064   Posts: 1,611,675   Online: 781

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Handcolouring causes cancer

I am new to handcolouring and really excited about giving it a try. I ordered a pack of Mashall's photo oils. They arrived, and upon reading the information packet contained within the box there was the following message:

"Warning:this product contains a chemical known to the state of California to cause cancer(and birth defects) or other reproductive harm."

I was shocked. Good thing I live in Texas...

But on a serious note, does anyone know what "chemical" they speak of? This was a little starter set that contained the following:

9 photo oils
    1 tube extender
    1 bottle P.M. solution

I imagine it is the cadmium colours, but am unsure. The P.M. solution looked suspicious until I found out it was just D-limonene and vegetable oils.

And how invasive are we talking here? I'm not planning on eating the colours. So my worry is there are fumes involved? You tell me...

Thanks,
    Josh

Shooter
    Large Format

Chemical concern

Josh

I have been working with paints and colvents for years, Almost any thing chemical made now days is going to have a warning or disclamer like that, and you can ask any artist what they might think.

You more than likley have much worse stuff under your kitchen sink.
    If the hazzard in the colores was so bad I doubt if it would be on the open market. Just be careful not to get a bunch on your fingers and transfer it to food or cigies, just wipe them off good first with mineral spirits then wash with soap and water.

I often times use my bare fingers to color large areas.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by joshverd View Post